The penalty that lead to Seville’s opening goal against Real Betis Former might have won the game for them.
However, referee Andujar Oliver considers this penalty shot should not have been awarded.
Marc Bartra was adjudicated as having fouled Luuk de Jong with a backward move.
Oliver claims that the video assistant could not change Mateu Lahoz’s decision to reward Seville with a penalty because the player made contact with the Dutchman.
“VAR can’t stop the referee because there’s touch, but there are thousands of those acts in a match so I don’t think it’s enough to assign a penalty,” Oliver told.
VAR has thus been helpless in reversing the decision.
“It’s not a penalty for me,” he added nonetheless.